Orange Volunteer Fire Company
Header

Join

Facebook


Upcoming Events

09/06/2019
2019 OVFC Golf Tournament

09/19/2019 - 10/30/2019
OVFC Citizens' Fire Academy

View All Events

2019 Incidents
Jan 63
Feb 44
Mar 66
Apr 57
May 78
Jun 52
Jul 59
Aug
Sept
Oct
Nov
Dec
Total 419

2018 Incidents
Jan 88
Feb 79
Mar 97
April 51
May 93
June 62
July 79
Aug 56
Sept 58
Oct 80
Nov 80
Dec 65
Total 888

Previous Call Totals
2017 773
2016 730
2015 698
2014 722
2013 702
2012 694
2011 636
2010 652

Web Counters
Website Visitors
Since
February 1, 2017
290,238
Visitors Today
Aug 24, 2019
197
Virginia Burn Law goes into effect February 15th
Email Print RSS Facebook Twitter

By 2nd Assistant Chief Jason Morris
February 14, 2019

VIRGINIA BURN LAW

This is a reminder that Virginia’s 4:00 PM Burn Law goes into effect February 15th. The 4 PM ban comes into effect each spring during period of extreme fire danger. The 4 PM ban remains in effect until April 30th. Burning debris continues to be the leading cause of forest fires in the Commonwealth. The information below pertains specifically to the burn law:

• No burning until after 4:00 PM. This goes into effect February 15th and ends April 30th.
• Burning shall not be within 300 feet of woodland, brush-land or fields containing dry grass or any other flammable material.
• Do not leave fires unattended.
• This law applies to campfires, brush piles, stumps, fires in a ditch line or any open flame source that could produce fire spread.
• No new fires can be set or additional fuel (brush, leaves etc) added after midnight.
This law comes with a penalty up to $500, plus payment for any court fees and fire suppression costs associated with their extinguishment efforts.

Here are some Safety Tips
1. Contact the 911 center any time you host a control burn. The non-emergency phone number is 672-1234
2. Clear the area around where you are burning of any debris that could ignite.
3. Have water or a water source available and hand tools (shovels & rakes) available in case it tries to spread
4. Keep a phone close in case you need to dial 911 or call for help
5. Burn on days when the wind is calm. Keep a close eye on the weather before you burn in the evenings.
6. Burn only between 4:00 PM and midnight
7. Stay with the fire until it is completely out.
THE 4 PM BURN LAW IS EFFECTIVE FEBRUARY 15TH THRU APRIL 30TH

Attachments:
Attachment Outdoor-Fire-Laws_pub.pdf  (1,030k)
 

Comment Comment 0 Comment(s)


Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
www.FirehouseSolutions.com
Orange Volunteer Fire Company
P.O. Box 367
205 Caroline St.
Orange, VA 22960
Emergency Dial 911
Non-Emergency: (540)-672-1414
Station Fax: (540)-672-4304
E-mail: webmaster@orangevfc.com
Copyright © 2019 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)